The twelve finalists in the main category and six newcomers for the internationally renowned Leica Oskar Barnack Award photo competition, that will be granted this year for the 40th time, are set. Here an overview of the LOBA 2020 shortlist candidates and their series.

LOBA 2020

  • Matthew Abbott, Black Summer
  • Ragnar Axelsson, Arctic Heroes – Where the world is melting
  • Giovanni Cocco, Displacement – New Town No Town
  • Vincent Fournier, Space Project
  • Emil Gataullin, Mezen: By Sky’s Edge
  • Maïmouna Guerresi, Beyond the Border – A Journey to Touba
  • Luca Locatelli, Future Studies
  • Cristina de Middel, Journey to the Center
  • Davide Monteleone, Sinomocene
  • Hashem Shakeri, Cast Out of Heaven
  • Namhun Sung, Red Island
  • Anastasia Taylor-Lind, 5km from the Front Line

Newcomer 2020

  • Hugh Kinsella Cunningham, Wildfire (Ebola Amidst Conflict)
  • Fabiola Ferrero, The Blue Side of Fire
  • Gonçalo Fonseca, New Lisbon
  • Sharon Pulwer, God Fearing Women
  • Lindokuhle Sobekwa, Daleside
  • George Voronov, We Became Everything

All the shortlisted picture series are available to see online at:

This year brings us the 40th edition of the Leica Oskar Barnack Award. This jubilee year represented a good opportunity for Leica Camera AG to enhance the LOBA‘s renown, by applying a new selection process. In addition to the prize money being increased, the application process was completely restructured. This year, 65 top-notch, photography experts from over 30 countries, submitted their proposals. From this collection, this year‘s jury has now put together the LOBA 2020 shortlist. On October 22, the winners in the main and newcomer categories will be honoured during an award ceremony in Wetzlar, Germany. With the kind support of WhiteWall, there will also be exhibitions presenting the work of the winners, as well as a comprehensive presentation, 40 Years Leica Oskar Barnack Award, with accompanying catalogue, at the Ernst Leitz Museum. In the meantime, all the finalists in this year‘s shortlist are being presented on the LOBA website.

The LOBA 2020 jury is made up of:

Joel Meyerowitz, Art Director and Photographer (USA/Italy)

Pauline Benthede, Exhibitions Director for Fotografiska International (Sweden)

Malin Schulz, Art Director at ZEIT and member of the paper‘s Editorial Office (Germany)

Klaus Kehrer, Publisher (Germany)

Karin Rehn-Kaufmann, Art Director and Chief Representative for Leica Galleries International (Austria)

Find out more insides about the Leica Oskar Barnack Award 2020 at